Previous Invited Speakers
2012 Pictures
2011 Pictures
2010 Pictures
2009 Pictures
2008 Pictures
2007 Pictures
2006 Pictures
2005 Pictures
2004 Pictures
2003 Pictures
2002 Pictures
2001 Pictures
2000 Pictures
2012 Program
2011 Program
2010 Program
2009 Program
2008 Program
2007 Program
2006 Program
2005 Program
2004 Program
2003 Program
2002 Program
2001 Program
2000 Program
1999 Program
NIPS Online

The Learning Workshop

There will be no Learning Workshop in 2013.

Instead, CBLS is organizing the
International Conference on Learning Representations (ICLR 2013)

About the Learning Workshop

The Learning Workshop was an invitation-only workshop that ran from 1986 to 2012 under different names. It was initially named "Neural Networks for Computing", then renamed "Machines that Learn", and finally "The Learning Workshop".

It was founded by a group of scientists from Bell Labs and Caltech, and initially chaired by Larry Jackel from AT&T Bell Labs. Yann LeCun from AT&T Labs became the chair in 1997, and was later joined by Yoshua Bengio as co-chair.

The Snowbird Workshop, brought together researchers in machine learning, statistics, pattern recognition, vision, graphical models, neural nets, neuroscience, adaptive control, and speech recognition, who were interested in understanding natural and synthetic learning. Attendance was by invitation through recommendations from the committee.

The Workshop has had a huge influence on the field of machine learning, as well as on statistics, bio-informatics, computer vision, computational neuroscience, and a host of other areas that have a connection with machine learning.

Snowbird was the place statisticians and neural net people first met, where UAI and machine learning people first met, where computer vision and machine learning people first met, where the use of machine learning for biological sequence analysis was conceived.

Snowbird is the reason NIPS was created: after only 3 years, the field of neural computation had become to big for an invitation-only workshop with a mere 100 participants. A full-fledged conference with open submissions had to be created.

2012 Learning Workshop Committee


Yoshua Bengio: Universite de Montreal
Yann LeCun: New York University

Steering Committee:

Yoshua Bengio: Universite de Montreal
David Heckerman: Microsoft Research
Michael Jordan: UC Berkeley
Michael Kearns: University of Pennsylvania
Yann LeCun: New York University
Terry Sejnowski: The Salk Institute

Workshop Administrator:

tel: [

Program Committee:

Josh Alspector: DARPA
Francis Bach: Ecole Normale Superieure/INRIA
Pierre Baldi: UC Irvine
Leon Bottou: Microsoft
Brendan Frey: University of Toronto
Martial Hebert: CMU
John Lafferty: CMU
David McAllester: Toyota Technological Institute - Chicago
Andrew Ng: Stanford
Klaus Obermayer: T.U. Berlin
Fernando Pereira: Google
Maneesh Sahani: Gatsby/UCL
Bernhard Schoelkopf: Max Planck Institute
Volker Tresp: Siemens
Yair Weiss: Hebrew University

About this server
Questions or problems regarding this web site should be directed to Yann LeCun
Questions about the workshop should be sent to , .